Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which Hyper-V

I am new to Hyper-V.

I decided to order myself a Dell R300 and 12GB of RAM for a test server which was shipped today. I have never worked with Hyper-V before and am wondering what I should install on this server, Hyper-V Server 2008 or Windows Server 2008 Standard with Hyper-V role?

I have read that Hyper-V Server 2008 requires another PC or SBS 2008 Server just to get to the configuration console and this sound like it could get complicated. Would I be better to install Windows Server 2008 Standard with Hyper-V? Then configure my virtual servers?

In the end, I am after a test Hypervisor platform with two child partitions, one running SBS 2008 Standard and the other running BES 5 in either Server 2008 Standard or Server 2003 standard.
    Network Engineers do IT under the desk

Re: Which Hyper-V

Personally, I would go for the Windows 2008 Server Standard with Hyper-V. Your main consideration would be licensing. Did it come with the server OS CAL? Also, Standard comes with 1 CAL for a Virtual Server. You will need to purchase additional Server CALs for other virtual servers. Enterprise comes with an allowance of 5 and becomes more cost effective, if you have 3 or more virtual servers.

Comment

This is a test platform so I intend to use my TechNet version of Server 2008 and create two virtual servers, one SBS 2008 server and another Windows Server 2003 to put the BES on.

Thanks

Comment

You can also use VMware ESXi or Citrix Xenserver as both are free.

Comment

Originally posted by RobW View Post
          This is a test platform so I intend to use my TechNet version of Server 2008 and create two virtual servers, one SBS 2008 server and another Windows Server 2003 to put the BES on.

Thanks
          I see. Use the Enterprise version and have a play around with clustering as well.

Comment

Originally posted by Virtual View Post