Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Removing Windows 2012 DC

Hello everyone

I am kinda new to Windows Server configuration and I hope you can give me some input.

Currently we have 5 servers in our company, Windows 2003, Windows 2003r2, Windows 2008, Windows 2008r2, Windows 2012. Windows 2008r2 was our Primary DC 6 months ago, and when we purchased a new Windows 2012 server, we have allow this new server to take over the role of a DC.

Now we encounter some hardware issue on the 2012 server and wanted to reconfigure the server.

I have read books on Windows 2012 Installation and Configuration etc but I still have 2 confusions.

1) Can I simply backup and then reformat my Windows 2012? After which I can do apply the AD? I will do it over the weekend.

2) Since there are different versions of Windows Server OS, what is the forest level and domain level that I should select after reinstalling the 2012 server?

3) After I had reformatted, and use back the same domain name, do I have to get all my colleagues PC to rejoin back the same name domain?

Re: Removing Windows 2012 DC

You could try a backup, rebuild and restore but as an alternative:
    1) check functional levels are at 2008r2 (you may not have raised them)
    2) DCPROMO 2008R2 to be additional DC (add DNS, DHCP etc)
    3) DCPROMO 2012 to stop being DC (also remove DNS/DHCP)
    4) remove 2012 from domain and flatten
    5) fix hardware, clean install of 2012, rejoin domain
    6) DCPROMO (new) 2012 server

Maybe a bit more work, but it keeps your existing domain intact rather than rejoining clients (which can be a real PITA )

If the current FLs are at 2012, introduce a temporary 2012 server (any spare hardware) and make it a DC as above
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland