Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• copy from AIX to Windows hidden share

Hi,

I need to find a solution for backing up/transferring BACKUP (dump file) from AIX (specifically) to Windows 2012 Hidden Share.

The vendor saying that he cannot do a copy from his system to hidden share because it requires a password...

Personally, I think that there should be a solution (probably simple). I am not a Unix expert but cannot believe that in 2017 the password for Windows hidden share could be an obstacle.

Currently, we have an awkward solution and using Backup to tape for this system. We need to be able to copy first to DISK.

I did a quick search and found a way to do it from Linux... (didn't look closely yet).

Want to ask forum for a pro solution for the question if exists...

Thanks.
    "When you hit a wrong note it's the next note that makes it good or bad". Miles Davis

I don't think the password is the problem. I think the admin just needs to escape the "$" in the hidden share with a backslash. e.g.

Code:
    mount -t cifs //server/hiddenshare\$ -o username=adminUserName,password=myPassword /mnt/srvshare
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

how COOL
      sure I will suggest and will mention JeremyW from Petri forum if you allow of course.

Thanks.
      "When you hit a wrong note it's the next note that makes it good or bad". Miles Davis

Comment

It's on the internet. Yes, feel free to mention.
        Regards,
        Jeremy

www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

Hi JeremyW
          I asked the question on AIX forum and understand that it is not a trivial task... and probably our AIX application vendor is right...
          Since I asked the question about copying files from AIX to Windows HIDDEN share you are trying to give an advice...
          Let me ask the question another way...