Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrading of domains – need suggestions plz

Hello everyone!
    I am a Junior IT admin but my employer is giving me a lot of responsibilities lately and as such I need some help. One of the challenges he gave me is to solve this scenario and propose a better setup. At the moment I have two sites which are geographically close to each other but not so close to be on CAT5 cabling. So there's a fibre link in between and their IP schemas are different. Moreover they are running different AD versions..one is Windows 2008 R2 and the other is the now obsolete Windows 2003.
    The scenario we want is to phase out BOTH ADs and move both sites on the same domain in such a way that if one of the ADs fails it will failover to the other AD. Therefore the sites must have distinguishable ADs but still pertain to the same forest. The users on this server will store their data on a central storage which preferably will be a SAN or something similar.
    What do you guys and dolls suggest for a setup like this? VMWARE, HYPERV, Veeam..?
    Thanks all
    J

I am (easily) confused - you say you want "both sites on the same domain" and also "distinguishable ADs" (which I read as different domains.

Assuming you have a VPN between sites, IMHO the best way is a single AD domain (don't phase out both existing domains, just move objects from one to the other) with at least one DC in each site. Assuming AD Sites and Services is set up correctly with the right subnets, authentication will prefer a local DC but fail over to a remote one if no local DC replies

As far as virtualisation goes, personal preference for HyperV but IMHO HV and ESX are equivalent. Veeam is (unless its changed recently) a backup solution
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland