No announcement yet.

How to develop a proactive maintenance schedule?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to develop a proactive maintenance schedule?

I am actually kinda new to this and need a little help. I have 3 Domain Controllers in our Branch office and need a little input. What type of things should I be paying attention to on a regular basis and how often? What tools are available for getting this job done?

Please help

Re: How to develop a proactive maintenance schedule?

all the tools you will need are already included with Windows server whatever version...

that being said, your setup may not be supported by micro$oft, therefore you may need manufacturer specific tools/applications to backup data on proprietary storage devices like SANs arrays and some SCSI controllers.

you should become very familiar with the BPA tool for all the different services offered on a windows server. read the results and follow the links and make sure you understand the errors and information you get back from the tool.

many people will use 3rd party applications for many of the tasks that can be handled by windows natively. this is fine when the app saves time or helps automate the process, but you should know how to do it yourself without any apps. you may operate on several different networks with different standards (as i have being a contract sys admin for so many years) and some places cannot afford the 3rd party apps or dont trust them for whatever reason and you must accommodate with what you have at hand.

be vigilant with backups. if you have an exchange server, back it up! if you have an SQL server, back it up! and back up the configs as well as the databases. its great to have a backup of a database, but if its encrypted and your AD crashes, how are you gonna get that data back without the user account?

there are plenty of caveats and tips, but they will all require you to study and know your products forward and backwards...