Problem Installing Windows Server 2008

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem Installing Windows Server 2008

I am a newbie at this but I am having trouble just getting a machine to start up and install WS 2008. Upon start up the installation cd is in the machine and it boots up to show the windows files are loading and then it puts up a command prompt window. The installation should ask for language settings, should it not? Is there a command I need to enter?

This machine was previously owned but was supposedly cleaned up and ready for use. It is a custom machine with XEON Quadcore / 4 GB RAM.

Any help is much appreciated.

Re: Problem Installing Windows Server 2008

Originally posted by hawgee View Post
    I am a newbie at this but I am having trouble just getting a machine to start up and install WS 2008. Upon start up the installation cd is in the machine and it boots up to show the windows files are loading and then it puts up a command prompt window. The installation should ask for language settings, should it not? Is there a command I need to enter?

This machine was previously owned but was supposedly cleaned up and ready for use. It is a custom machine with XEON Quadcore / 4 GB RAM.

Any help is much appreciated.
    Are you sure its definitely been wiped??

Sound almost like your booting into a Server Core installation.

Comment

Originally posted by wullieb1 View Post
      Are you sure its definitely been wiped??

Sound almost like your booting into a Server Core installation.
      Yes, the machine has nothing on it. I put two new HDDs in it. The BIOS show the drives (set as RAID 0), and the DVDRAM drive is listed. Upon boot the dvd spins and start up begins as expected, but the command prompt opens as soon as the WS 2008 grey background screen shows up. The dvd/cd is a Windows Server 2008 OEM. I have the product key and virtual key but it does me no good unless I can load it.