Can't Join Server 2008 Domain

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can't Join Server 2008 Domain

I'm trying to join a windows 7 laptop client to a server 2008 domain and having a hell of a hard time. I also have windows 7 virtual machine that gives me the same error message.

I've done quite a bit of research on this and I know it's dns related, but I can't find any issues with the DNS server. I'm new to this and training for certification so any help would be tremendously appreciated!

Okay here's what I have so far:

I have setup all ports required for a client to join a domain on my router just in case that was the problem.

I have active directory and dns services installed. I have the client set to dhcp for ip and static dns addresses of my servers, which are 192.168.1.201 and 192.168.1.202.

The client config is:
    ip add:192.168.1.207
    mask:255.255.255.0
    dns: 192.168.1.201

Here's the server config:
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-29-32-EE-3B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.201(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.201

I can ping both of the servers by ip and hostname. When I try to join the error message is:

The following error occurred when DNS was queried for the service location (SRV) resource record used to locate an Active Directory Domain Controller (AD DC) for domain "globomantics.local":

The error was: "This operation returned because the timeout period expired."
    (error code 0x000005B4 ERROR_TIMEOUT)

The query was for the SRV record for _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.globomantics.local