Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hyper-V and Activation

Hi all,

I recently purchased a Dell server with Server 2008 R2 Enterprise. Mainly, this was because my understanding was that the Enterprise version included 4 licenses for VMs (totaling 5 when factoring in the physical).

So I built the physical server and activated Server 2008 R2 using the product key on the server sticker. Then, I built a VM (my first, and also a 2008 R2 Enterprise install from the same media) and activated it using that same key.

Then I tried a 2nd VM. Now suddenly, the product key doesn't work.

I must be doing something wrong. Is my understanding incorrect? Am I simply doing something wrong? I am very new to Hyper-V and even more clueless on the mind-bogglingly complex MS licensing model.

Can someone help, please? Thanks!

Re: Hyper-V and Activation

You should have two product keys on the sticker -- one for the physical and one for the VMs
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Originally posted by Ossian View Post
      You should have two product keys on the sticker -- one for the physical and one for the VMs
      Ah Ha! I will look Monday. Question in the meantime... Since I could, in theory, install anything I wanted on to the VMs, how does MS know what Key to provide? For example, if VM 1 I create is the same OS as the physical server (2008 R2 Enterprise) and I build VM 2 as a Windows 7 PC, how would the same key work for both VMs?

Thanks!

Comment

I suspect not, but have never tried it -- the second key should be a multiple activation one for 2008R2