Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windows 2008 R2 configuration help please

Hi,

Sorry for the noob questions and possibly the wrong terminologies, I am new to configuring servers! I am trying to configure my server so that I can use it to run my SEO programs. I have a Dell PowerEdge R410 with Widows 2008 R2. I use to use the server to host websites but it has been sat in a cupboard for 2 years not being used. I recently fired it up but I am having problems configuring it and wonder if someone could point me in the right direction.

The internet was working perfectly yesterday but I couldn't install MS Office and I couldn't remote desktop into it. MS Office wouldn't install as it said I have terminal server running and I needed a volume license of MS Office. I am not sure why I couldn't configure RDP so I could remote desktop. It also wouldn't let me check for updates either. In an attempt to get MS Office installed, I removed all of the roles in Server Manager and deleted old, unwanted folders and programs. This made MS Office work however I now can't connect to the internet (can't complete the registration of MS Office as I can't get online). I have tried all day to connect to the internet but it isn't working - it is not picking up the network at all (a wired ethernet cable runs straight to the router). The internet is working perfectly on my other machines and I have double checked the connections.

What am I doing wrong? I am guessing I have uninstalled something/disabled something I need. What do I need installed/roles set up to connect to the network/internet? If you could help with setting up the remote desktop too so I can remote desktop into it it would be appreciated although I obviously can't use this until I can connect to the internet!

Re: Windows 2008 R2 configuration help please

Hi there.

Could you run ipconfig/all and post the results?