Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

    Afternoon 'all (or morning / evening)
    In my AD Domain I created a new top-level OU called Administration, then another nested one called Users. I created a number of Users (10) in this OU. No problems. Fast forward 2 weeks and I have had a rethink on my OU Structure and created some geographically based OU's, so I created another top level OU and structured it as follows

    XXXXX Users > South Region > HQ > Users

    (XXXXX being my organisation name)

    All good so far. I then selected the 10 original users from the Administration > Users OU, right clicked and selected Move. I selected the new OU (as described above) and they populated in, all good.

    Now I did this in the morning today, and when I have just looked, the Users are showing up in the old location (still) and the new location.

    What's that all about????

    Cheers guys and gals

    Tommy G

  • #2
    Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

    Click refresh / F5 in ADUC
    cheers
    Andy

    Please read this before you post:


    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

      Cheers Andy, I tried that but it didn't have any effect. I logged out and left it for an hour, that still had no effect. I took the bull by the horns and deleted one of the users in the original container and it left the other one, so I then deleted the rest in the original container and they were still in the new one, so job done.

      Not normal though eh?

      Tom

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

        How many domain controllers are there? If there's more than one then I would suggest checking to make sure that replication between them is working correctly.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

          True Joe, I was assuming tommyg was looking at the same ADUC to see both sets of users.
          It's not actually possible for the same account to be in two places but the below is implying it is in this situation!
          cheers
          Andy

          Please read this before you post:


          Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

            Thanks for the input guys.........I was looking at the same ADUC.......and yes, I only have 2 DC's in the domain. I'll check out the replication as a matter of course and monitor this closely as I'm gonna be importing a whole load of Novell Users very soon.

            Top class responses as usual

            TommyG

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

              The only thing I can think of is a refresh issue on ADUC to be fair. Nothing else would make sense but that's been discounted so....
              cheers
              Andy

              Please read this before you post:


              Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

                I would also suspect replication and do some testing of that before you make any more major changes to AD
                Tom Jones
                MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
                PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
                IT Trainer / Consultant
                Ossian Ltd
                Scotland

                ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

                  Am I missing the point? How would replication be involved if the change was on one DC and both sets of users are showing on the same DC though?
                  I could understand it if the users were moved on one and the other DC was being used to see where they were.
                  cheers
                  Andy

                  Please read this before you post:


                  Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

                    I read it that ADUC was connecting to the other DC and therefore displaying incorrect information -- maybe I'm missing something but that seems the most likely cause?
                    Tom Jones
                    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
                    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
                    IT Trainer / Consultant
                    Ossian Ltd
                    Scotland

                    ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

                      Yeah but that would just show the old location not the old and new?
                      Either way it's a bit odd.
                      cheers
                      Andy

                      Please read this before you post:


                      Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Users being left behind in OU's after being moved

                        Thanks for all the input guys, just done another move and they moved instantaneously so I'm not sure what was up initially. Could be the fact it's on a virtual setup and I don't trust 'em

                        Thanks as always!

                        Tom

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X