No announcement yet.

Beginner help needed to install/configure Server VMs

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner help needed to install/configure Server VMs

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this forum, so please be patient with me. I am a developer from the UNIX environment.

I have been asked to try and setup a web application development platform for 2 developers, including myself on the windows server environment. This involves 2 phases.

Phase 1 is to try and setup a proto type environment using virtual servers. Once things are up and running then move into Phase 2 which is to move to a proper development environment.

I will have access to

Hardware in a VM environment
    Application development in VS2010 environment
    Software environment as follows:
    Windows Server 2008 R2
    Windows Web Server 2008
    SQL Server 2008
    Share Point Server 2010
    Optionally if required
    Project Server 2010
    Exchange Server 2010

Based on the documentation I have read so far, I assume for the purpose of proto typing, I would have to set up the following:

On 1 Windows Server 2008 R2 the following roles
    AD services, DNS, DHCP at the very least.

I am trying to work out how to install and configure other roles such as
    Web Server (IIS), Application Server (.NET/ASP.NET), RDS, File Services along with the other Servers on each of the VMs.

The Question is, how I can work out how to put together a VM server farm with all of these servers talking to one another and getting access to data as required to handle client OS request.

I have got no access to any specific architecture documentation other than the web. I am currently going through the Microsoft documentation. But I havenít come across any high level installation and configuration documentation for this type of scenario.

Can you help me with any ideas, suggestions, recommendations, pitfalls to watch out for, links or documentation to read?

My email if required is [email protected]