Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

iSCSI Storage High Availability - Please Help.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• iSCSI Storage High Availability - Please Help.

Hi Guys,

I'm kind of new in storage so..

I've got a website stored on GoGrid's cloud,
    That is built from:
    - 2 IIS server (win2008r2)
    - 1 SQL server (win2008r2) - iscsi initiator connected to the iSCSI server.
    - iSCSI server (win2008r2)

(any of the servers are stand alone servers, there is no Domain Controller server in the cloud)

I want to create a high availablity cluster for the iSCSI server, what is the best way to create redundent iSCSI server?

I've read couple of articals how to add iSCSI target on Microsoft cluster,
    or StarWind with Microsoft Cluster.

I've heared of Microsoft MPIO - is it helpful for what i want?

Please help me decide how can i implement this ASAP,
    Thanks!

Re: iSCSI Storage High Availability - Please Help.

Given you appear to be using a single server, presumably with local storage , as your iSCSI server, it will represent a single point of failure. A proper SAN would give better availability.

From memory you will need to duplicate your server and set up some way of synchronisation -- the only Microsoft solution is DFS which will work at the file level, more or less preventing databases being duplicated.

You might be better moving up a level and using log shipping and local storage to keep two SQL servers in sync.

MPIO is unlikely to help here -- it uses multiple routes between SAN and Server to give high availability and more throughput
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Originally posted by Ossian View Post