Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Backup strategy for WS 2008 R2

Hi *,

I have three servers running Windows Server 2008 R2 with the following roles:

#1: PDC, DHCP, DNS
    #2: DC
    #3: File&print

For backup I can only use Windows server backup.

I have a storage connected to serevr #3 via fiber Optic.

What backup strategy should I implement ? (I have limited backup experience).

Thanks in advance !

Re: Backup strategy for WS 2008 R2

OK, several questions
    Do you need to retain backups or will a daily copy (overwritten each day) do?

Share a folder (on the SAN) on Server 3 then use it as a target for scheduled backups from Server 1 & 2
    For Server 3, that should also work even if it is a "local" drive as long as you access it through the share

Do full backups as long as you have the capacity, otherwise only relevant volumes and system state

If you need retention, script the backups to folders within the SAN share, and schedule using Task Scheduler
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

I would say that for #1 & #2 a 3 day retention would do.
      For #3, I'd require 14 days for the files and 3 days for the rest.

Is there a way to configure this from Windows server Backup or I have to use another software. Have in mind that there is no funds available .

Thanks !

Comment

You can configure scheduled backups using scripts ( wbadmin) and scheduled tasks
        Create separate folders for each run
        Tom Jones
        MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
        PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
        IT Trainer / Consultant
        Ossian Ltd
        Scotland