No announcement yet.

WAIK & Building a KMS Server - Help/Advice Needed

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WAIK & Building a KMS Server - Help/Advice Needed

Hi all,

First, let me say that I am a Microsoft-licensing novice who hates it. I barely understand any of it. It's cumbersome and all things being equal, I'd rather sit in a hammock with a couple of girls than deal with licensing... But it is what it is. Secondly, I am a Windows 7 novice, although I've been running it personally since June 2010. Likewise with Office 2010.

I say this purely because if my questions seem dumb and rudimentary, it's probably because they are. I need a little hand-holding here, so please bear with me. Thanks!

I am the IT Manager for a small school. In other words, I am a department of ONE. I've got little or no help. I have roughly 300 client PCs that have all been running XP Pro since time began... This summer, I wish to roll out both Windows 7 and Office 2010 (both Std and Pro w/ Plus).

I am running an AD-based domain. Of my dozen or so servers, 6 are running Server 2008 R2. The remaining servers are running Server 2003 R2.

Since I got here, I've simply used GhostCast 8.2 (archaic, I know) to build and deploy my PCs. Simply put, I build a PC to spec, create the image, then dump it onto all my remaining PCs. I store the Ghost images on a Windows XP PC (my "ghost server") and simply use a patch cable from that to the PC. Of my roughly 300 clients, approximately 220 of them are spread among 3 different PC models. 155 of those are all one model. So all things being equal, it's been fairly easy.

But now I gotta move to Windows 7 and Office 2010...

KMS, MAK, WAIK??? All scary... I need to remove the fear!