Server 2008 R2 Add AD CA role Crashing MMC

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Server 2008 R2 Add AD CA role Crashing MMC

I have a Domain Controller running on Server 2008 R2. I have been attempting to add the Active Directory Certificate Services role and it keeps crashing MMC as soon as I click the check box for the AD CA role in the add roles dialog. I've been searching around online all day and trying a variety of solutions but so far nothing has worked. The only thing that I haven't tried that I've seen suggested is copying MMC registry keys over from another working server. I haven't done this because I don't have access to a similarly configured domain controller to copy from right now.

*Full disclosure - I am not an IT professional. I am an automation engineer that has been tasked with setting up and maintaining our lab network - so don't assume I know anything. *

I would much appreciate any thoughts or suggestions anyone may have.

The server manager log shows this:
    Code:
    5628: 2017-10-04 14:59:55.604 [CBS]                       IsCacheStillGood: True.
    5628: 2017-10-04 15:00:01.205 [Provider]                  System changed since last refresh: False
    5628: 2017-10-04 15:00:07.335 [CAManager]                 Test Initialization: CCertSrvSetup
    5628: 2017-10-04 15:00:07.413 [CAManager]                 Test initialization: True
    5628: 2017-10-04 15:00:08.459 [CAManager]                 Initialization: Creating CCertSrvSetup
    5628: 2017-10-04 15:00:08.459 [CAManager]                 Initialization: Initializing defaults
    5628: 2017-10-04 15:00:08.474 [CAManager]                 Initialization: Getting default key information
    5628: 2017-10-04 15:00:08.474 [CAManager]                 Initialization: Getting existing certificates
    5628: 2017-10-04 15:00:08.490 [CAManager] Error (Id=0) An exception occurred at    at Microsoft.CertificateServices.Setup.Interop.CCertSrvSetupClass.GetExistingCACertificates()