Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

File Server Permissions Nightmare - Help!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• File Server Permissions Nightmare - Help!

Hi all,

First of all, let me just say that I'm by no means an expert on permissions and setting up file serving. Been a loooooong time. That being said, I'm a department of one so it all falls on me.

I work at a school and have by told by administration how they want our shared file structure to look. I fought it and lost... I had a setup where each user had their own "home" drive, and it worked beautifully, but they don't want it and are forcing me to change to the following structure:

Teachers
    • K1
      • Curriculum
      • Teacher 1
      • Teacher 2
      • Teacher 3
    • K2
      • Curriculum
      • Teacher 1
      • Teacher 2
      • Teacher 3
    • Grade 1
      • Curriculum
      • Teacher 1
      • Teacher 2
      • Teacher 3
    • Grade 2
      • Curriculum
      • Teacher 1
      • Teacher 2
      • Teacher 3
    • Grade 3
      • Curriculum
      • Teacher 1
      • Teacher 2
      • Teacher 3
    • Grade 4
      • Curriculum
      • Teacher 1
      • Teacher 2
      • Teacher 3
    • Grade 5
      • Curriculum
      • Teacher 1
      • Teacher 2
      • Teacher 3
    • Grade 6
      • Curriculum
      • Teacher 1
      • Teacher 2
      • Teacher 3
    • Grade 7
      • Curriculum
      • Teacher 1
      • Teacher 2
      • Teacher 3
  • Grade 8
    • Curriculum
    • Teacher 1
    • Teacher 2
    • Teacher 3

So in a nutshell, what they want is for every teacher to be mapped to the root TEACHERS folder. We'll call it the "T Drive". OK, that's easy enough...

Now, here's where it gets annoying, and what I'd like is advice on the easiest way to accomplish setting the permissions they want.