Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Technet subscription - testing evaluating server OS

Dear

I am looking for a cheap way to test server OS in test environment. Win2008 Win2008R2. Later on maybe also other Microsoft products (virtualisation, ...)
    I think technet subscription covers this material. Is anyone familiar with this. When i have a Technet Subscription Professional it should be possible to download server OS software to use in test environments without having to deal evaluation periods?

regards

Bert

Re: Technet subscription - testing evaluating server OS

Correct -- Technet Plus gives you full licenses for almost all MS products (except development tools) for testing and evaluation only -- not commercial use
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Thanks!

Is there also a possibility to use "test" licences for 1 product for a smaller price. For example if I only want to test with Windows 2008 Server and Windows 2008 R2 Server.

With the professional subscription you pay about 262. To test 1 product it is still rather expensive.

Rgds

Bert

Comment

Depending on how long you want to test I think you get 30 days before you need to activate.

Michael
        Michael Armstrong
        www.m80arm.co.uk
        MCITP: EA, MCTS, MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003: Messaging, CCA, VCP 3.5, 4, 5, VCAP5-DCD, VCAP5-DCA, ITIL, MCP, PGP Certified Technician

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **

Comment

There are some 180 day evaluation versions around too, and MS do Virtual versions of some servers for testing