No announcement yet.

Creating new domain

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Creating new domain

Hello guys,

Im looking for some advice in relation to my first domain implementation in a very small office. Im new in this company and they have been using a workgroup in their network under Windows 2008 R2, the server has just some folders that are shared so the users can run some programs.

Obviously this leaves no room to manage users permissions. Ive seen some tutorials on how to implement active directory and it seems pretty straighforward. Now my question is, when I run the wizard to activate the AD system, can this screw up the access from the clients to the shared folders? Can I revert back to the workgroup if it gets hairy? I know I how to join each client to the domain, is creating the domain what I have not done yet.

I would appreciate any help,

You can un-promote a DC without too many issues (a reboot required). Depending on the permissions, non-domain clients may be able to access resources once you promote the server, but you will want to review all permissions as part of the re-organisation.

If you have a "spare" PC, try installing server 2008R2 (trial/evaluation mode) and practicing the DC Promo - keep it off the live network though...
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Please, do not use this as a learning and testing site. Do some research, read a book or two, watch some YouTube video tutorials that are available or use this 10 day FREE trial for Pluralsight tutorials. Click on the word YouTube and Pluralsight in the previous sentence for a list of the FREE 10 day Trial tutorials.