No announcement yet.

Need advice in securing an unorganized legacy file system. Hurray!

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice in securing an unorganized legacy file system. Hurray!

Hello everyone! New to the forum, but I have been a lurker for some time.

I am a new administrator over a legacy network which has a file system that is almost two decades old. My main focus right now is the security of the file system. Right now there are no established discretionary access control lists; any user logging into the network (including from our VPN) has full control of any file they choose. Needless to say, this is NOT cool, and it is an issue that I have placed at the top of my list.

My first step was using a PowerShell string to gather a list of all of the user accounts that have not been in use for over 120 days. There were around 200 users on the system, many of which are contractors for the company who only use the Exchange OWA for e-mail, and only 15-20 of which are active users on the file system. I went through and disabled the ones that were inactive and that I knew were not associated with an Exchange mailbox. Well, of course one person called up the next day upset she could not access her required files from so-and-so's old e-mail account, so I agreed to turn it back on as long as we change the old password.