No announcement yet.

Several questions about WinServer 2008

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Several questions about WinServer 2008

Hello there

I am fairly new in Windows Server series and I am trying to manage a Windows domain in our company. My background on servers depends on Linux-based systems, but in my opinion Windows handles some crucial components more complex than Linux. Therefore, I have stuck in some points.

My first question is about the Firewall component in Server 2008. I know server firewalls are always confusing to set up but I even cannot understand how the firewall system works on Server 2008. I set "only accept connections from domain" but I can even access to domain server at home . Is there any kind of visual program or script that can control Windows Firewall easily? If not, I would consider to migrate some other firewall program. Do you know any kind of free or commercial type of firewall systems that can be used on Windows Server 2008? I don't want to mess up my server of course I just want a simpler interface for Windows Firewall (For one, who are familiar with Linux, I mean a program like "CSF", a program (or maybe script) that manupilates iptables rules).

My second question is about roaming profiles. I have 2 domain servers and one of them is serving roaming profiles in a share like "\\server2\Profiles\%username%" . As an administrator (using the domain's Administrator account), I cannot access to those shares even if I have logged on locally. I need to take ownership of the user profile folders in order to see inside.

I have read several articles and forum posts about this problem and they say that "Enable -add the administrators security group to roaming user profiles- setting in GPM". I have activated it from "Default Domain Policy", as instructed in the articles mentioned, but it doesn't help.

Do I have any chance to see inside the user folders without touching the ownership status of these folders?

Thanks in advance.