ntdsutil snapsho - size and location

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ntdsutil snapsho - size and location

Hello all, I'm new here and appreciate the community .

I'm studying for my MCITP, and am working on 2008 AD snapshots. I'm working in a VM environment using virtualbox.

I'm trying to figure out
    • how much space the ntdsutil snapshots take up
    • where the snapshots are stored
    • is the ntdsutil snapshot a full filesystem snapshot? How is it NOT?

I assume the snapshots don't take up too much space, but I also assume that the longer they're kept and the more your AD changes the more space they will take up (similar to other snapshots).

I suspected that the snapshots were kept in 'system volume information', but I looked in there and didn't see them (I mounted my virtual hard drive on my host computer and looked). There were a couple UUID-named files, but they weren't the snapshots.

The ntdsutil snapshots ARE snapshots of the entire filesystem - at least when you browse them they list the whole filesystem, and you can copy files out of that snapshot. So - what are they? I doubt that it's a real snapshot ... is it? It isn't listed under 'previous versions' so it's not part of Microsoft's 'normal' snapshot technology/implementation (but I knew that).

Finally, any idea why there are two UUIDs for each snapshot? I've done a bit of poking around on the web and I saw an artice writting about longhorn in RC, and the author was assuming that would be changed before full release.

Almost forgot, my post is very closely related to another post here at petri:
    http://forums.petri.com/showthread.p...sutil+snapshot

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post .
    Last edited by trevort; 16th March 2010, 13:12.

Re: ntdsutil snapsho - size and location