Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Server 2008 and 32-bit xp dual boot

Hello,

I realize that this is a topic of very minor interest - why on earth dual-boot a server OS. I am just beginning my efforts to gain MCITP certification and need an environment to study. My work laptop is a Compaq 6720s running 32-bit xp pro, but it is 64-bit capable.

I know those of you who work IT full time are rolling their eyes - another loose cannon user. Hopefully I can demonstrate that I intend to proceed responsibly.

I have successfully re-partitioned the hard drive using Paragon Partition Manager. And I have downloaded and burned the (64-bit) Server 2008 180 day trial image.

My question is - will the (64-bit) Server 2008 boot manager be able to deal with the already installed 32-bit xp pro partition? I have read the documentation for bcdedit and understand that I may need to tune the boot instructions to regain access to xp, but I have not seen anything that addresses the possible conflict between 32-bit and 64-bit operating systems. Hopefully because there is no issue.

Yes I realize that virtualization is another option, and one that I will need to understand in order to be a qualified administrator.

Thanks very much for your assistance.

Mike

Re: Server 2008 and 32-bit xp dual boot

I have done this in the past dual booting XP and 2003, for much the same reasons as you are when I first started my MCSE. Don't see any reason why it won't be possible.

Install XP first and boot to it, then insert the 2K8 DVD and choose clean install when the wizard opens. You'll be prompted to reboot, go ahead and do it and then choose the new partition when you get to the drive options.