Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to add a shared folder as a cluster disk in win 2008 failover cluster

Dear Techies,

I am new to the failover/clustering concepts.

I has 2 servers win 2008 ent with sp1, now I want to install sql 2005 in a 2 node cluster environment, I started through and stucked in the storage configuration, since we dont have san in our environment I want to use a shared folder in my file server as a cluster disk, is their any chance to do like this if not what are the alternativies I can consider except SAN.

hope you understand the scenario,

thanks in advance for your support

Regards,
    Gowtham

Re: how to add a shared folder as a cluster disk in win 2008 failover cluster

Have you considered this as a solution to convert your file storage in to a SAN.

http://www.nimbusdata.com/products/mysan.php

Comment

This is not full version, any other solutions please.

Comment

hi Virtual,

thanks for your immediate reply.

As per you suggestion i downloaded MYSan tool and installed in one windows 2003 pc, and just i add one of the partition of my external hard disk and i give access to particular node by selecting host name of the node.

And i tried to access that iscsi drive on windows 2008 iscsi initiator. i tried to add my windows ip address on iscsi initiator Discovery Tab, but it giving Authentication Failed. can you give some detailed information about this iscsi initiator configuration.

i think you know my requirment, just i want to add share folder as shared disk for windows 2008 cluster.

Comment

I have just looked at the requirments and it seems w2k8 is not compatible for hosting the 'mysan'. I am unsure whether the same applies to the iSCSI initiator coming from a w2k8 machine.

http://www.nimbusdata.com/products/mysan_reqs.php

It sounds to me you have set it up correctly. Have you checked the NTFS permissions on the iSCSI LUN ? (partition on the w2k3 server)

Comment

Dear virtual & all,