Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Permissions on Win2k3

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Permissions on Win2k3

    Hi Guyz,


    I have 2 folders

    1 userfolder : James
    Rights on folder:
    James
    SYSTEM
    Administrators

    1 sharefolder: Share
    Rights on Folder
    Security_group_Share
    SYSTEM
    Administrators

    James = member of Security_group_share

    Issue:
    When james haves an file on his desktop and copy pastes into the Share folder the copyd file gets the right: Security_group_share

    When he cuts & pastes the file it keeps that only James and Administrators and SYSTEM can access the file.

    What i want is that evryone that puts a file in share evryone should be able to access the files how do i solve this?

  • #2
    Re: Permissions on Win2k3

    Check the share permissions as well as the security permissions, you will need to have the Security_group_Share in both of these areas. You might need to go into the advanced permissions to setup inheritable permissons on sub folders and files.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Permissions on Win2k3

      This did not the trick ive shared the folder "share" and premited Security_share_folder

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Permissions on Win2k3

        its only when i cut paste

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Permissions on Win2k3

          Are the folders on the local drive?

          If so, remember the permissions rule
          "move same retain"

          Moving files on the same drive retains permissions. All other operations inherit permissions


          Tom
          Tom Jones
          MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
          PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
          IT Trainer / Consultant
          Ossian Ltd
          Scotland

          ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Permissions on Win2k3

            its on the SAN drive B: its just cut paste for folder user folder to other folder on same drive

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Permissions on Win2k3

              How Do i solve this Tom

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Permissions on Win2k3

                Does anyone have an idea to solve this.

                when the user moves an file from his homefolder to a share folder it retains the rights. Both folders are on SAN drive.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Permissions on Win2k3

                  Tmlt suggested:
                  You might need to go into the advanced permissions to setup inheritable permissons on sub folders and files.
                  Did you check that the permissions are propagating?
                  A temp fix might be to get the Users to COPY files and NOT move them.
                  1 1 was a racehorse.
                  2 2 was 1 2.
                  1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
                  2 2 1 1 2

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Permissions on Win2k3

                    Have a read at this. It may help you understand the difference between moving and copying files and there permissions.

                    COPYING AND MOVING DATA

                    Copying and moving data is something that every administrator does, usually on a pretty frequent basis. When copying files and folders with NTFS permissions assigned to them you need to folder certain guidelines. The NTFS permissions sometimes change as the file and folders are moved or copied. It is important to know these guidelines before you start shuffling data around your Windows 2000 network. This discussion outlines these rules and explains what happens to the NTFS permissions when files and folders are moved or copied.

                    Copying Files and Folders
                    When files and folders on a NTFS volume are copied to another volume, the permissions change. For instance, if you copy a file from one NTFS volume to another NTFS volume, the following things happen if the right criteria are met.


                    The receiving NTFS volume treats the file as a new file. Like any new file, it gains the permissions of the folder it is created in.
                    The user account used to copy the file must have the Write NTFS permission in the destination folder on the receiving volume.
                    The user account used to copy the file becomes the Creator Owner of that file.
                    This means that any permissions assigned to that file before it is copied are lost during the copy itself. If you want to keep those same permissions, they will have to be reassigned at the destination folder.

                    When files and folders are copied from an NTFS volume to a FAT partition, the permissions are lost. This happens because FAT partitions do not support NTFS permissions.

                    Moving Files and Folders
                    When files or folders are copied from an NTFS volume, the permissions change. Now when files or folders are moved from an NTFS volume, the permissions might or might not change. This depends entirely on where the destination folder lies. We can safely assume that when files or folders are moved to a FAT partition, the permissions are lost. That is correct, and for same reason that NTFS permissions are lost when copying files and folders from a NTFS volume to a FAT partition. There are in fact two other cases worth pointing out when moving files and folders from an NTFS volume: moving files and folders within a NTFS volume and moving files and folder to another separate NTFS volume.

                    When moving files and folders within a single NTFS volume, these rules are followed:


                    The files and folders keep the original permissions assigned to them.


                    The user account moving the files and folders must have the Write NTFS permission to the destination folder.


                    The user account moving the file must have either the Modify standard NTFS permission or the Delete special access permission assigned. This is because during a file or folder move, the files and folders are deleted from the source directory after they have been copied to the destination folder.


                    The user account used to move the files and folders becomes the Creator Owner of those files and folders.
                    When moving files and folders from one NTFS volume to a separate NTFS volume, these are the rules followed:


                    The files and folders being moved inherit the permissions of the destination folder. For example, if you move a file from a folder that has Everyone with Read permission into a folder on another partition that has permissions only allowing Domain Admins Read access, the file will now carry the latter security settings.


                    The user account moving the files and folders must have the Write NTFS permission to the destination folder, since a move is really a combination copy/delete.


                    The user account moving the file must have either the Modify standard NTFS permission or the Delete special access permission assigned. This is because during a file or folder move, the files and folders are deleted from the source directory after they have been copied to the destination folder.


                    The user account used to move the files and folders becomes the Creator Owner of those files and folders.

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X