No announcement yet.

Access is Denied and Windows Cannot update the policy error please help URGENT

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Access is Denied and Windows Cannot update the policy error please help URGENT

Please help me out as i am getting strange problems.
    I installed Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition and intsalled active directory on it, i have migrated my network from Windows NT to Windows 2003 sucessfully.

The problem is when i try to edit Default Domain Policy its not allowing me e.g. if I try to disable the Password Complexity and click ok i get this message (Security Template "Windows Cannot Update the Policy") I have checked all the permissions and I login with Domain Administaratos account I tried couple of things but unfortunately i am unable to edit the policies.

Second when I try to create a new policy it says "Access is Denied" and I dont understand this how come i am getting this msg. I am an administrator and I have checked the properties-security and I have full access to that object but still i am unable to either create a new policy or edit an existing default policies.

No logs are written in the Event Viewer.

I had installed the Service Pack1 and GPMC but still my issue is not resolved error is the same.

Before installing active directory on a stand alone server I am able to change the local policies but not with Active Directory. I have only one Domain Controller.

Kindly help me out with this problem please, Its an urgent matter.

Khizar Khan

Re: Access is Denied and Windows Cannot update the policy error please help URGENT

Hi,

i have encountered a similar problem once before. it turned out that for some reason, the permissions on the SYSVOL folder were the ones who prevented me from updating/changing the GPOs....

recommand you check this one.

from your messege i understand that you tried it more then once and then it happens everytime your DCPromo a Server... is this correct ?
    Yaniv Feldman