Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrade windows server 2003 to windows server 2008

Hello All

I have a windows server 2003 master domain controller and members(all windows server 2003) of the domain controller. Now I want to upgrade the OS of all servers from windows 2003 to windows 2008. Can I start the OS upgrading with a member server? or have to from the master server. If possible then what are the procedures to be followed. I have tested this scenario in my VM windows 2003 test AD/DC server and successfully upgraded the OS. Now want to implement in the production.
    Need to know the process/procedures prior to start cos I don't want to make a mess of the production servers.

Thank you in advance.

Re: Upgrade windows server 2003 to windows server 2008

Backup DC 2003, AD, DHCP and anything else important on it
    Install Server 2008, (is it really Server 2008 as Mainstream Support End Date was 13 January 2015) 32 or 64 bit?

OOOPS, I think I may have read this post wrong (how unusual). Please confirm that this is going to be an in-place upgrade and NOT installing Server 2008 on new hardware.

If in-place, I would start with creating a 2008 DC first and allowing it to Replicate so if anything goes wrong with the 2003 DC upgrade you still have a working 2008 DC. However I really can't remember the last time I did an in-place install/upgrade so someone may have a better and more current solution.
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

It will be an OS up gradation. Currently all machines are running windows server 2003 which are to be upgraded to windows server 2008

Thank you
      __________________________________________________ ______________
      Originally posted by biggles77 View Post
      Backup DC 2003, AD, DHCP and anything else important on it
      Install Server 2008, (is it really Server 2008 as Mainstream Support End Date was 13 January 2015) 32 or 64 bit?