I need Help with a Lan

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need Help with a Lan

I just started for the catering company and now I'm head of The It department. They use Network Solutions to host their domain but the Lan in the office has a server running Windows Server 2003. I have try to set my computer up to the domain but it won't let me connect. I've made a user account in active directory and tired to assign my user name to the computer I'm using but it won't let connect to the domain. I have some experience using Server 03 in school but never in the real world. This is my first time having to use what I've learned in school out in the field. I'm just wondering if I were to demote to old domain would it be better than to try make a new one. And If I demote what would I have to do and what do I need in server to make sure things go well. I'm sorry I'm not more detailed about The topic but I'm a recent tech grad and I know how to promote but I never had to connect several computers to a server before. I don't what to mess things up but I want to try to get better at setting up Lans for companies. Hence my user name for this site.

Re: I need Help with a Lan

I wouldnt immediately jump at setting up a new domain based on the fact that you just got there.

I would recommend that you focus on getting more familiar with the network setup/implementation and figure out what the business requirements are. Then evaluate what you have in place and how much is it going to cost the organization to upgrade the systems that need to be upgraded or replaced.

Back to your question about AD, you'll need to join that computer to the domain. First make sure that its IP configuration is correct. Its important that its client DNS settings are pointing the the DNS server(s) on that network.