Mx Record and POP3

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mx Record and POP3

I have configured a POP3 server in window 2003 and from that server I can send Emails. But I am unable to receive emails to that server.

How do I receive emails ?

How do I create create MX records ? My mail server system is a client of our Local Domain.

How do I connect this POP3 server with MX records?

Please help. I am new to Domain Networking

Thanks in advance

Re: Mx Record and POP3

are you using Microsoft Exchange, or what mail application?

Basically, you need to do a few things:

1.) Ensure you have anSMTP server running, that can accept and deliver the mail.
    2.) Ensure that you have opened your firewall, so that port25 on the public IP addrss, goes to port 25, on the mail srever
    2a.) ensure you have a static ip.
    3.) Speak to your ISP. Ask them to create an MX Record, pointing to your public IP.

that should be it
    Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

I am using windows 2003 POP3 mailbox.

I am using Static IP Connection in bridge mode.

Is it possible to create MX record in my system ?

Comment

if you want to receive emails from outside your network, then you need to have an mx record.
        if you only want emails within your network, then you just configure the clients to point to the smtp server...
        Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

Is it possible to create MX record in my system ?

Comment

Yes, in Windows DNS, but what is the point?

You will need to configure public DNS records (ask your ISP or whoever controls your domain to help) pointing at the ISPs SMTP servers

Since you are using POP3 you almost certainly do not have your own mail server but are probably using the ISP to handle incoming and outgoing email