Trust between two domain controlers on the same network

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trust between two domain controlers on the same network

I am new at this so please give me some advice.
    We have 2 organization on the same ip class(192.168.0.x)
    We have a domain controller(server 2003) that is used to manage computers from first organization, called server1
    Second organization doesnt have a DC yet, but computers from second organization access resources from the first organization(a sql database). Second organization uses the ip adresses from 192.168.0.100-192,168.0.140

Now I would like to add server2 as a domain controller to manage comuters for second organization. I have installed a server 2008 R2, added Routing and Remote Access Service (RRAS) and setup the server to work as a NAT ROUTER(second organization has a different ISP). My server2 has the LAN NIC set to 192.168.0.101
    No GW, No DNS(multihomed)
    The WAN NIC is setup to my ISP requirements and works fine. All computers from second organization have internet connection through server2.

The problem comes from the fact that computers from my second organization, after beeing added to my new domain cannot access resources from server1(SQL database) but the resources are accessible from server2 (192.168.0.101). Computers from second organization can access computers from first organization, but server1(witch holds DC and SQL) is not accessible
    The NICs from second organizations are setup like
    192.168.0.102-40
    GW 192.168.0.101
    DNS. my ISP DNS

I really hope you can give me some advice.
    Thanks

Re: Trust between two domain controlers on the same network

you have a very confusing setup.

put the two separate organisations on separate subnets to start with.

then worry about routing between them. what you're doing is very confusing and messy, and i don't understand why you;'re doing it like this