No announcement yet.

Dns Problem

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dns Problem

my name is idan and im a sysadmin of a college in south israel.

my college has 2 domains being hosted and managed my
    the **** is the main site while ****.com is redirection to **
    the whole site is hosted outside the college network in webgate.
    before i arrived there was a DC in the college name ***.com and the mailboxes in the college were **@***.com then that DC went dead and it has been decided to install a new DC with the name *** (to allow the malboxes to be **@** ) but after the installation there was a major problem that clients inside the college want to access ** and the server thinks it himself so they not getting anywhere.

we tried to link the site to .com domain instead to but who writes that site had inside the links to in the database.

so now we are not exactly sure what we can do to allow access to the site without reinstalling the DC.

im sorry for my poorly english i hope you can come up with an answer

Re: Dns Problem

If I understand you correctly, you are indicating that when users attempt to visit your organization's website from the internal network, they are unable to resolve to the correct IP.

If this is what you are experiencing, it is because each DC by default will register in DNS a blank record in the primary zone hosting AD with the IP address of the DC's network interfaces.

So, when a user opens a browser and types, of course your internal DNS provides the resolver (client) with the responses which include the IPs of your DCs.

The way that I have handled this in the past is adding a registry edit on each DC to prevent the DC from registering this particular record, also known as the LdapIpAddress record.