Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Server 2003 CAL's?

Hi,

If I have a Windows 2003 standard server and I need to add 5 user CAL's to it what does that involve?

I know it seems like a basic question but I've never done it before. Can I just add the CAL's to the server or do I need to set up a terminal license serving server? If I need to set up a server can it be that same server and can I restrict the usage to that server? How long does it take and is a restart required?

Kyu
    J C Rocks (An Aspiring Author's Journey)
    The Abyssal Void War: Stars, Hide Your Fires

Re: Server 2003 CAL's?

Assuming your licensing is in "per user" mode it is more a matter of honour than configuration
    You have a licensing console (NOT TS licensing) you can add the licenses to but many admins disable the licensing service and keep paper records
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Originally posted by Ossian View Post
      Assuming your licensing is in "per user" mode it is more a matter of honour than configuration
      You have a licensing console (NOT TS licensing) you can add the licenses to but many admins disable the licensing service and keep paper records
      So I need to ask whether the client wants per server or per user licensing?

Kyu
      J C Rocks (An Aspiring Author's Journey)
      The Abyssal Void War: Stars, Hide Your Fires

Comment

If they have multiple servers, dont go anywhere near per-server licensing (IMHO)
        Tom Jones
        MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
        PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
        IT Trainer / Consultant
        Ossian Ltd