No announcement yet.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SID and RID

HI pple

I am very new to IT field.. i wud like to understand what is the use id SID and RID.

I understand these are some security identifiers which will be issued by the domain controllers when creating an object(user/computers/groups).
    How this SID works, I have gone thru some articles but failed to understnd more.
    I wud like to knw what is purpose of SID , Wat happenes if duplicate SID comes(Cloning the PCs) into the network

Re: SID and RID

From an article i found :

Security Identifiers (SIDs)

Instead of using names (which might or might not be unique) to identify entities that perform actions in a system, Windows uses security identifiers (SIDs). Users have SIDs, and so do local and domain groups, local computers, domains, and domain members. A SID is a variable- length numeric value that consists of a SID structure revision number, a 48-bit identifier authority value, and a variable number of 32-bit subauthority or relative identifier (RID) values. The authority value identifies the agent that issued the SID, and this agent is typically a Windows local system or a domain. Subauthority values identify trustees relative to the issuing authority, and RIDs are simply a way for Windows to create unique SIDs based on a common- base SID. Because SIDs are long and Windows takes care to generate truly random values within each SID, it is virtually impossible for Windows to issue the same SID twice on machines or domains anywhere in the world.
    When displayed textually, each SID carries an S prefix, and its various components are separated with hyphens: