Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Critical - BDC Issue

Hello members,

This is my first time to posting any question on this interesting IT resolution forum.

I have only one question if any body answer me i will be thankful to you.

Basically, we are running windows based network in our organization and we have few windows 2003 enterprise servers and approx. 50 employees (win xp) under our organization. for these all employees we have one PDC server that all users authenticate through this server.

Now i am thinking to deploy their BDC server if suppose any issue on the PDC then all users authenticate from the BDC server.

Our PDC server IP is "192.168.1.1" and i wanted to create child/backup server to assign him "192.168.1.2" and in all employees DNS settings also define this IP. if 192.168.1.1 down then traffic authenticate through 192.168.1.2.

Kindly provide me any solution.

Regards,

Saeed

Re: Critical - BDC Issue

In a Server 2003 AD structure there is no such thing as a PD and BDC. All DC's are created equally, well apart from thos with FSMO roles.

Solution.

1. Install Server 2003 Enterpise.
    2. Configure with static IP.
    3. Install DNS.
    4. Run DCPROMO and promote to Domain controller.
    5. Set as a Global Catalog.
    6. Configure DHCP to assign the new DNS server via the scope options.

Thats should get you on your way.

Comment

Saeed,

Set up a 2003 server with DNS configured. Create a DC with DCPROMO switch(I hope u are familar with AD).
      Select the option -First domain cntlr.
      Make all of your PCs as the clients of your server.
      Say the Server name is Server A.
      Setup another 2003 server, while running the dcpromo , select the option as additional domain cntlr.. This creates u a additional domain cntlr(ie. backup to serverA) Before running Dcpromo to this server configure DNS as welll. You can make this server as seconday DNS.

Mighty

Comment

Hello MIGHTY,

Thanks for your reply.