Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Basic Questions Windows 2003 Server ... adding Users, Groups & Group Policy?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic Questions Windows 2003 Server ... adding Users, Groups & Group Policy?

Hello all im new to Windows 2003 and I have some basic questions on Windows 2003...

Im going to start off by saying that im just trying to help my parents out with a small business and im fluent in building computers, networking, XP, and i have basic concepts down with registry, Group Policy, users

Setup:
    1) Windows 2003 SP2 Server acting as the DNS Server, Domain Controller with Active Directory
    2) 20 Windows XP SP3 Computers

Currently I joined the XP clients to the Domain using "Administrator" and "password" and i never gave anyone a unique username or password they simply log onto their XP clients using "Administrator" and "password" i know this is poor practice so i want to change it

Goal:
    1) Everyone logs onto the Domain with thier XP Client using a unique username and password
    - Create Multiple Users
    - Create Group

2) Setting up a Group Policy for the employees that will limit their Internet browsing

I have an idea on how to do both i just have some very specific questions i want to ask before i do it

Question :
    1) Start --> Administrative Tools --> Active Directory Users and Computers --> Select my Domain
    I know how to add a USER but i don't know where to place the newly created USER
    - Should i place the USER in one of the many default folders that come with the domain such as Builtin, Computer, Domain Controller, ForeignSecurityPrincipals, Users
    or
    - Should i create a new Shared Folder or OU and put the USER inside of that?

2) Same question as #1 except when i make a GROUP where do i place it?

3) I would like to enable Content Advisor in the Group Policy
    Right Click my Domain --> Properties --> Group Policy