Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DN attribute not defined error Active Directory

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • DN attribute not defined error Active Directory

    Hi.
    I am trying to do a bulk import of user accounts using the CSVDE tool for active directory. I have a .csv file and am doing this:

    csvde -i -f ExampleUsers.xls and receive the following error output:

    Connecting to "(null)"
    Logging in as current user using SSPI
    Importing directory from file "ExampleUsers.xls"
    Invalid file format. DN Attribute not defined
    0 entries modified successfully.
    An error has occurred in the program

    This is the file i am using:

    Container/OU First Name Last Name Common Name DN Logon Name Groups
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" John Adams John Adams jadams [email protected] NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Frank LiebermanFrank Lieberman [email protected] NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Linda Peters Linda Peters lpeters [email protected] NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Esther Mets Esther Mets emets [email protected] NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Tim Daniels Tim Daniels tdaniels [email protected] NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Charlie Brown Charlie Brown cbrown [email protected] NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" John Doe John Doe jdoe [email protected] NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Joe Conrad Joe Conrad jconrad [email protected] NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Britney Simpson Britney Simpson bsimpson [email protected] NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Rex Smith Rex Smith rsmith [email protected] NewCoResearch



    Any help is appreciated.
    Last edited by wilsonjallan; 27th November 2009, 04:09. Reason: forgot files

  • #2
    Re: DN attribute not defined error Active Directory

    your first row does not look correct.
    for a start, it's not comma-separated. Secondly, the headings don't look right.


    Do a CSVDE export, and have a look at what headings and stuff you need..
    Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: DN attribute not defined error Active Directory

      Ah. I saved the file in the wrong format. Here is what actually worked. Also, I had failed to vreate the OU in the root of the domain.

      DN,objectClass,sAMAccountName,givenName,sn,mail
      "CN=John Adams,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercorp,DC =net",user,jadams,John,Adams,[email protected] corp.net
      "CN=Frank Lieberman,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercor p,DC=net",user,flieberman,Frank,Lieberman,flieberm [email protected]
      "CN=Linda Peters,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercorp,D C=net",user,lpeters,Linda,Peters,[email protected] Dovercorp.net
      "CN=Esther Mets,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercorp,DC= net",user,emets,Esther,Mets,[email protected] rp.net
      "CN=Tim Daniels,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercorp, DC=net",user,tdaniels,Tim,Daniels,[email protected] 0.Dovercorp.net
      "CN=Charlie Brown,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercorp,DC =net",user,cbrown,Charlie,Brown,[email protected] overcorp.net
      "CN=John Doe,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercorp,DC=n et",user,jdoe,John,Doe,[email protected] et
      "CN=Joe Conrad,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercorp,D C=net",user,jconrad,Joe,Conrad,[email protected] vercorp.net
      "CN=Britney Simpson,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercorp, DC=net",user,bsimpson,Britney,Simpson,[email protected] ain20.Dovercorp.net
      "CN=Rex Smith,OU=NewCoResearch,DC=domain20,DC=Dovercorp,DC =net",user,rsmith,Rex,Smith,[email protected] orp.net


      Thanks for your help.

      Comment

      Working...
      X