Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Windows 2003 Server Reinstall, what to look out for?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windows 2003 Server Reinstall, what to look out for?

Hi

I am a new system admin at a company, and I found things to be hectic over here. I need to do a reinstall of the Dataserver. Their domain consist of Two servers, both act as Active Directory Domain Controller. The RAID 5 is damaged, and backup fails always. For that I got two new drives, and I am going to do a reinstall.

What things are that i should look out for? I heard that when I reinstall a server with the same exact name, IP, etc. the Active Directory might get confused unless I remove the Old server from the AD, and when the new one is brought up, I join the AD again. Is this correct?

What else should I look after? I will take the server down tomorrow, and I would like to be sure, that all goes well. I made anote of all the Shares, and Printers attached, IP addresses, DNS, etc.

Thanks

Benedek

DRP

Well, you have a "few" problems..

1. Create a network diagram with network settings etc.
    2. Verity that you have the correct installation media for the
    operating system + application and you know how to install them.
    3. Backup the data to another server before format the server.
    4. Extract user mailboxs, public folders, username etc. (You can use
    Exmerge, ldif - there nice help guides in petri site.
    5. Check that you dont have other hardware problem - Raid problem may
    create due problmatic Raid adapter etc.
    6. Its will be wise to buy new servers and migrate the active directory,
    mailboxes etc to them. HP 380 G4 can be good server for this issue.
    7. Consider hire external company that will help you. Installation of
    servers without support satisfactory can create demage to the
    company.

Regards,

Yuval
    Best Regards,

Yuval Sinay