PLEASE HELP - Setup Branch Office

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PLEASE HELP - Setup Branch Office

I've been asked to setup a 2nd site to our office, I've never done this before, only done internal servers, so could really use some help.

There will be a firewall device at each end that will establish a site to site VPN for connectivity between the 2 sites.

How should I configure each site?

I know this will vary from site to site, I know this, I'm just wanting to learn the min requirements to make it all work, I can look at customising for our needs later. I'm after quite ganular information, ie, the order to set up each component & how to do it, click by click.

Let's call them
    SITE1:
    - DNS: site1.company.local
    - Server Name: SVR1
    -
    Server IP: 192.168.4.2
    - 2003 domain with 2 DCs in 2003 mode
    - 192.168.4.0/24
    - VPN/Router/Firewall/Gateway IP: 192.168.4.1
    SITE2
    - DNS: site2.company.local
    -
    Server Name: SVR2
    - Server IP: 192.168.5.2
    - 192.168.5.0/24
    - VPN/Router/Firewall/Gateway IP: 192.168.5.1

Components that come to mind are:
    * Domain Controller setup
    * Forest/domain setup
    * DNS
    * AD Domains & Trusts
    * AD Sites & Services

Thanks very much for any help, I'm in a really tight bind here!
    I've been using this online backup for all my photos, docs, spreadsheets, powerpoints & emails for years now & it works great.
    Go Here for their free 5GB: http://www.idrive.com/p=gavamm
    I upgraded to the Personal Plan for peace of mind for not much more than a cup of coffee.

Re: PLEASE HELP - Setup Branch Office

hi,

a little clarification,

are both sites being setup from scratch
    or site 1 is up n running
    and site2 is in deployment phase.

Comment

You will need to tell us the make and model of your firewall devices, and I don't think anyone will give you "click by click" instructions

Have you thought of bringing in a consultant?
      Tom Jones