X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems with folder redirection - pst files and My Documents

Hi,
    I am after some advice.

I use an Active Directory domain with Windows Server 2003 R2 and Windows XP clients.

I am in the process of setting up some group policies, and also Folder Redirection.

As I am new to Group Policies, I downloaded and installed Microsoft's group policy common scenarios, then created a test OU and linked the Lightly Managed user and machine GPO. I set up folder redirection in both the user and machine GPO, then enabled offline files for the share.

Users store their outlook.pst file in My Documents. I understand that pst files do not work when stored on a network share, can anyone suggest a location to store the pst file, or a good way to deal with pst files when using folder redirection?

I was getting error messages:

a. When running Outlook: "The file C:\Documents and settings\Username\Outlook\Outlook.pst could not be found"

b. On log off "Files of this type cannot be made available offline".

These were resolved by moving the pst file to c:\documents & Settings\username\outlook.pst - but doesn't this defeat the object of folder redirection?

Also, if I save data in C:\Documents and settings\Username\My Documents, this data is not added to the My Documents folder which is accessed via the link on the Desktop. Is this normal behaviour - I would expect these to folders to synchronise.

Thanks

Nick

Re: Problems with folder redirection - pst files and My Documents

You can definitely run PSTs from a network share, it just isn't recommended due to the higher possibility of corruption. Not to mention it'll add additional overhead to the network.

Folder redirection isn't the same thing as folder sync. Redirect means that any shortcut link to My Docs goes to the new location, but the original folder still exists.
    ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment