No announcement yet.

Backing up the Server

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Backing up the Server

HI, im newbie so,... be nice to me ! lol

well.. im a new system administrator (brand new) and the company im working for have 4 servers...

the problem is (BIG PROBLEM) that non of them is backed up !!!
    (im talking bout server 2000, sql2003, 2 x SBS)

i need to offer an non expensive but still good method of back up and i have no ida how to do it !!!

i though about an 250gig usb external hd and some imaging software to do weekely images of the server drive... do u think this method i good ?

can you offer me some better (affordable) method of backing up the system.. ??? ( im open minded ! lol )

i know ... that if one of the server is going down im in alot of trouble...
    and im only work here one week...

thank from ahead...

First think to do is:

- What kind of services you are running on these four systems?
    DataBases?IIS?Exchange?Isa Server? Domain Controller?
    - What you really need to backup?
    - How many times you need to backup? Every day? Every Week? Every Month? Every Year etc...
    - What kind of media you need to backup? DVD (4.7gb up to 9.6gb each dvd), TAPES(400gb up to compressed each tape), HD (up to 350 gb each)etc...

- You will need to run a full backup every week, incremental backup every day, full backup every month (these ones will be arquived) The daily tapes will be re-writed every 7 days, the weekly tapes every 4 weeks and the monthly tapes will be arquived.
    Do you understand?

P.S. You can not run incremental backups with databases.

You need to gice more details about the systems and services that you need to backup.
    MCSE w2k

1st, 10x for trying to help...

second, i have 4 server over here running

1)Server 2000 = DC+AD, Echange, IIS.
      2)Server 2003 = SQL Database, Terminal.
      3)Server SBS2000 = Terminal PC.
      4)Server SBS2000 = DC+AD, Echange, IIS (for other network)