No announcement yet.

Newby need help configuring Windows 2003 Storage server with Redhat Enterprise

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newby need help configuring Windows 2003 Storage server with Redhat Enterprise

Hi, all this is my 1st post here. Im kinda new to Windows Server hopefully you guys wont mind entertaining a newby.

I need some advice on configurations. Currently in our company we have

1) 2 units of Dell Poweredge 2950 - installed with Redhat Enterprise on both
    2) Dell Powervault NF500 - installed with WIndows 2003 Storage Server (NAS)
    3) all of them are connected to Watchguard Firebox (firewall)

Currently we have an application server which is only installed on one of the Dell Poweredge. I need advice on how can I configure

a) redundancy meaning one Poweredge down the other will take over
    b) the data will be kept in the Dell Poweredge at the same time have a copy in Dell Powervault (NAS)

I have googled for WIndows 2003 Storage Server for step by step documentations but was unable to find anything useful.

Need advice on what should I consider and what step should I take. If there is any good documentation available online also can provide me the link.

Appreciate any response

Re: Newby need help configuring Windows 2003 Storage server with Redhat Enterprise

There are multiple issues to address. .and without more indepth information as to exactly what you're trying to acheive (although I have an inkling) it's hard to say.

1) Redundancy and failover of the 2950s.
    Firstly, you need to have some sort of clustering software installed, and a heartbeat connection of some sort. You would probably addres the server via the cluster address rather than an individual address. The two servers maintain a constant heart beat, and if one goes down, the other knows it needs to take up the slack. this has nothing to do with the 2003 Storage Server however. (At least, not at this point i wouldn't think)