Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cant Joint Domain

Hello Everyone,

I am pretty new to server operating systems so I don't know exactly what I am doing yet but I try to do the small tasks at our company so we don't have to bring the pros in for 5 minutes every day and waste money.

Here comes the problem. I added a workstation to the domain which worked fine. He connected and had access to all of the correct resources. I then noticed his computer name did not mach our scheme. I logged the workstation off of the server, Deleted his computer out of the computers section of active directory, then logged in as the local admin on the workstation and changed the name of the computer. At the same time I gave him a static address because he also wanted remote desktop set up. Everything went fine. I logged off and tried to log back onto the server and it says it cannot find the server. I even tried logging in as myself and still nothing. I changed it back to DHCP and everything worked fine. Then I changed it back to static (the exact address that it received for DHCP) and still nothing. I tried many known working static addresses and each time it says cannot find domain. It will only work with DHCP. Right now I have it on DHCP as a temporary solution. Any thoughts on why it does not like static?

Re: Cant Joint Domain

What settings are you putting in the DNS/WINS boxes?
    Do they match what is applied through DHCP?
    cheers
    Andy

Please read this before you post:

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Comment

Originally posted by AndyJG247 View Post
      What settings are you putting in the DNS/WINS boxes?
      Do they match what is applied through DHCP?