Routing problem PPTP VPN (Win2003)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Routing problem PPTP VPN (Win2003)

Hello, I’m a system administrator at a medium sized company. Our server all running on Windows 2003. To let our employees connect to our network we let them use PPTP (via a Windows 2003 server). It is not the best and secure way but it worked for us fine for several years.

The problems began 1 month ago. All VPN users complained that they could not connect to the network. I investigated the problem and noticed a strange behavior:
    Users could establish a VPN tunnel, but once connected they could not get access to the network. You could ping the (internal) IP of the server if you had a connection but no other server? So I expected a routing problem. It seems that the server doesn’t route the traffic to the network.

First I tried to fix it my self (I’m MCSA) but after a day of trail and error I contacted a support company with more experienced people than me. After 2 days they give up as well. The only solution we found was to reinstall (or enable) the “routing and remote access” on another server. So I just run the wizard, do the manual config (we have only 1 LAN connection), select VPN, changed the firewall to the new server and done. It worked again. And we didn’t looked any further for the cause. We suspected that a security update was messing with the settings, so we disabled the automatic updates on the newly configured server.

BUT, today we experienced the same problem on the other server. Now to come up with a quick solution we tried to enable it on other servers (patched and unpatched servers). But without success, every time we configure it and test the server we can only connect but cannot access the rest of the network. You can only ping or even rdp to the VPN server itself.

Does anyone have experienced the same problem? And more important does anyone has a solution for me?

Re: Routing problem PPTP VPN (Win2003)