Win 2003 server + a router help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Win 2003 server + a router help

Hello, guys how are you doing? this is danyee new member to petri.co.il website and i have questions regarding DHCP server 2003 and a ROUTER, here is the information:-

1. the DHCP server IP = 192.168.0.1 AND HAS 30 DHCP clients in the work station and it has SQL server 2005 is installed, the server has 2NIC and the Name of the server is HP PROLIANT DL 380 and it is x32bit.
    2. the Router (Gate Way)= 192.168.1.1 which is Dynamic DNS; when i start the Router, the DNS will change. and this Router is connected in same SWITCH with the SERVER and there are 25 users are accessing an internet from the Router as work group. right now, my question is how can i connect the internet access both in server and clients? the problem is the server and router are in different sub net. you know guys i have no more experience about the Router, subnneting........

So, please guys i need your help!
    Last edited by danyee; 23rd April 2009, 11:25.

Re: Win 2003 server + a router help

what sort of router, what sort of switch ?
    Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

May I inquire as to why they need to be separate subnets?

There are a couple options here - one option is to change the DHCP scope to 192.168.1.x so all clients get a lease that will include the subnet for the gateway IP, also, you would need to change the server IP to 192.168.1.2 or something similar...this will allow all clients to access the internet along with the server.

The other option is to change your subnet mask to 255.255.252.0, which will make it so there are 1,022 usable host addresses available, which could include both 192.168.0.x and 192.168.1.x - this allows you to keep both IP ranges the same. This technique is called supernetting.