Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Licenses for Windows Server 2008, Office 2007, Terminal Server and Exchange

Hey guys,

I'm pretty much a newbie but I have extensive background in computers. A friend of mine asked me about the following scenario and I wasn't sure so I figured I'd post here:

An IT company is quoting a job for my friend. As it is they are charging too much for labor and the servers, but one things really stood out. They want licensing fees for

a) Windows Server 2008 - 20 CAL's @ $32 each

b) Terminal Server - 20 CAL's @ $83 each

c) Office 2007 Standard - 20 licenses @ $345 each

d) Exchange Server 2008 - 30 CAL's @ $62 each

My question is, is it necessary to get all these licenses and CAL's, or can, for example, the CAL for Server 2008 include the Exchange Mailbox?

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

Re: Licenses for Windows Server 2008, Office 2007, Terminal Server and Exchange

I assume you mean Exchange 2007 licensing.

Yes, you need all of those. If your a company, the prices seem reasonable. If your an educational establishment, they are ripping you off.

Comment

kingbear2, your prices mean absolutely nothing without knowing where in the world you are. If I was given those CAL prices in OZ, I would be purchasing twice as many as I needed because for us here those prices are very cheap indeed. Don't forget that when you purchase the Server product it comes with 5 CALs so make sure you don't over purchase (or under purchase either) the required nuber of CALs.

The Office 2007 licences do seem rather high as well.

Without knowing what the business requirements are it is difficult to give advice with the little information you have supplied. If your friend has such a small number of users then SBS2008 may be a better option for you to look at.

As for the other work being over charged, that too depends on what is actually being done.