Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

dcdiag exposes a problem

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • dcdiag exposes a problem

    everything works fine but i can not connect a pc to the domain, and i get the following error when i run dcdiag

    Domain Controller Diagnosis
    Performing initial setup:
    Done gathering initial info.
    Doing initial required tests

    Testing server: Default-First-Site-Name\VHPSVR1
    Starting test: Connectivity
    The host 974f864f-5f66-4e9d-b33b-061fabe468f5._msdcs.vhp.local could not be resolved to an
    IP address. Check the DNS server, DHCP, server name, etc
    Although the Guid DNS name
    (974f864f-5f66-4e9d-b33b-061fabe468f5._msdcs.vhp.local) couldn't be
    resolved, the server name (vhpsvr1.vhp.local) resolved to the IP
    address (192.168.1.5) and was pingable. Check that the IP address is
    registered correctly with the DNS server.
    ......................... VHPSVR1 failed test Connectivity
    Doing primary tests

    Testing server: Default-First-Site-Name\VHPSVR1
    Skipping all tests, because server VHPSVR1 is
    not responding to directory service requests

    what am i missing

  • #2
    Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

    You could restart the 'netlogon' service out of hours on VHPSVR1 to allow it to re-register in DNS Where is DNS hosted and on how many servers? How many DCs do you have and is a GC present in the domain?

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

      On the server VHPSVR1 go to the TCP/IP properties of the LAN connection.
      Go to the Advanced page and then DNS tab.
      Make sure Register this connection's addresses in DNS is Ticked.
      Let us know if already ticked.

      Ta
      Caesar's cipher - 3

      ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

      SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

        it is checked, any other thoughts

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

          One server with dns, AD, it is currently no in production

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

            Originally posted by shg2001 View Post
            One server with dns, AD, it is currently no in production
            If it's not a production server then make sure it is a GC and restart the netlogon service.
            Last edited by Virtual; 2nd March 2009, 16:18.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

              please take on offense, but i got stuck doing this by accident, but i know what AD is, DC is but what is GC? and also how to restart netlogon

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

                Originally posted by shg2001 View Post
                please take on offense, but i got stuck doing this by accident, but i know what AD is, DC is but what is GC? and also how to restart netlogon
                No problem. The forum is for use as educational tool as well as for assistance.

                A GC summarises AD. When a client connects to a domain, logs on or needs access to a resource, a GC wil often be contacted. To fnd out if it is a GC, go to AD Sites and Services.

                Expand 'Sites','Default FirstSite Name', 'Servers', 'VHPSVR1'. View the properties of the NTDS Settings and ensure the 'Global Catalog' box is checked.

                Next, restart the 'netlogon' service.

                Right click on My Computer. left click Manage. Expand the services item and then services again. Locate 'netlogon' and restart it. This will also give you chance to check the DNS server and client services are also started and to ensure any services set to automatic are also started.

                Then lokok at DNS and check to see if a zone exists called 'msdcs'.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

                  You could also give netdiag /fix a go.
                  Caesar's cipher - 3

                  ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

                  SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

                    I checked the NTDS Settings and ensure the 'Global Catalog' box is checked and also stop and started the net logon and i checked the dns and have attached a copy of what is in the dns file



                    I hop this sheds a liitle more light on my problem, this is my third try


                    thanks
                    SG

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

                      Can you post the contents of the _msdcs.vhp.local and the vhp.local.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

                        when i ran the program i got the following results




                        Computer Name: VHPSVR1
                        DNS Host Name: vhpsvr1.vhp.local
                        System info : Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 (Build 3790)
                        Processor : x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 10, GenuineIntel
                        List of installed hotfixes :
                        KB915800-v9
                        KB924667-v2
                        KB925398_WMP64
                        KB925876
                        KB925902-v2
                        KB927891
                        KB929123
                        KB930178
                        KB932168
                        KB933729
                        KB933854
                        KB935839
                        KB935840
                        KB936357
                        KB936782
                        KB938127
                        KB938464
                        KB941569
                        KB942830
                        KB942831
                        KB943055
                        KB943460
                        KB943485
                        KB943729
                        KB944338-v2
                        KB944653
                        KB945553
                        KB946026
                        KB948496
                        KB949014
                        KB950760
                        KB950762
                        KB950974
                        KB951066
                        KB951698
                        KB951746
                        KB951748
                        KB952069
                        KB952954
                        KB954211
                        KB954550-v5
                        KB954600
                        KB955069
                        KB955839
                        KB956802
                        KB956803
                        KB956841
                        KB957097
                        KB958215
                        KB958644
                        KB958687
                        KB960714
                        KB960715
                        KB961118
                        KB967715
                        Q147222


                        Netcard queries test . . . . . . . : Passed
                        [WARNING] The net card 'Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connection' may not be working.



                        Per interface results:

                        Adapter : Local Area Connection 2

                        Netcard queries test . . . : Passed

                        Host Name. . . . . . . . . : vhpsvr1
                        IP Address . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5
                        Subnet Mask. . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
                        Default Gateway. . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
                        Dns Servers. . . . . . . . : 205.152.144.23
                        205.152.132.23
                        assigned by ISP

                        AutoConfiguration results. . . . . . : Passed

                        Default gateway test . . . : Passed

                        NetBT name test. . . . . . : Passed
                        [WARNING] At least one of the <00> 'WorkStation Service', <03> 'Messenger Service', <20> 'WINS' names is missing.
                        No remote names have been found.

                        WINS service test. . . . . : Skipped
                        There are no WINS servers configured for this interface.

                        Adapter : Local Area Connection

                        Netcard queries test . . . : Failed
                        NetCard Status: DISCONNECTED
                        Some tests will be skipped on this interface.

                        Host Name. . . . . . . . . : vhpsvr1
                        Autoconfiguration IP Address : 169.254.0.166
                        Subnet Mask. . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
                        Default Gateway. . . . . . :
                        Dns Servers. . . . . . . . :



                        Global results:


                        Domain membership test . . . . . . : Passed


                        NetBT transports test. . . . . . . : Passed
                        List of NetBt transports currently configured:
                        NetBT_Tcpip_{D18BF039-5E2D-4514-838B-C9F664FAC1E6}
                        NetBT_Tcpip_{7045A43B-A015-4FF5-AA17-22B5FD571902}
                        2 NetBt transports currently configured.


                        Autonet address test . . . . . . . : Passed


                        IP loopback ping test. . . . . . . : Passed


                        Default gateway test . . . . . . . : Passed


                        NetBT name test. . . . . . . . . . : Passed
                        [WARNING] You don't have a single interface with the <00> 'WorkStation Service', <03> 'Messenger Service', <20> 'WINS' names defined.


                        Winsock test . . . . . . . . . . . : Passed


                        DNS test . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Failed
                        [WARNING] Cannot find a primary authoritative DNS server for the name
                        'vhpsvr1.vhp.local.'. [RCODE_SERVER_FAILURE]
                        The name 'vhpsvr1.vhp.local.' may not be registered in DNS.
                        [WARNING] Cannot find a primary authoritative DNS server for the name
                        'vhpsvr1.vhp.local.'. [ERROR_TIMEOUT]
                        The name 'vhpsvr1.vhp.local.' may not be registered in DNS.
                        [WARNING] The DNS entries for this DC are not registered correctly on DNS server '205.152.144.23'. Please wait for 30 minutes for DNS server replication.
                        [WARNING] The DNS entries for this DC are not registered correctly on DNS server '205.152.132.23'. Please wait for 30 minutes for DNS server replication.
                        [FATAL] No DNS servers have the DNS records for this DC registered.


                        The DNS servers are provided by the ISP and they are setup a fowarders and should have no impact on my intranet, but from what i see they might

                        Redir and Browser test . . . . . . : Passed
                        List of NetBt transports currently bound to the Redir
                        NetBT_Tcpip_{D18BF039-5E2D-4514-838B-C9F664FAC1E6}
                        NetBT_Tcpip_{7045A43B-A015-4FF5-AA17-22B5FD571902}
                        The redir is bound to 2 NetBt transports.

                        List of NetBt transports currently bound to the browser
                        NetBT_Tcpip_{D18BF039-5E2D-4514-838B-C9F664FAC1E6}
                        NetBT_Tcpip_{7045A43B-A015-4FF5-AA17-22B5FD571902}
                        The browser is bound to 2 NetBt transports.


                        DC discovery test. . . . . . . . . : Passed


                        DC list test . . . . . . . . . . . : Passed


                        Trust relationship test. . . . . . : Skipped


                        Kerberos test. . . . . . . . . . . : Passed


                        LDAP test. . . . . . . . . . . . . : Passed


                        Bindings test. . . . . . . . . . . : Passed


                        WAN configuration test . . . . . . : Skipped
                        No active remote access connections.


                        Modem diagnostics test . . . . . . : Passed

                        IP Security test . . . . . . . . . : Skipped

                        Note: run "netsh ipsec dynamic show /?" for more detailed information


                        The command completed successfully

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

                          Here you go, as i said earlier this is my third time and I though that look light in content when i tried this time

                          vhp.local


                          _msdcs.vhp.local.jpg


                          I hope this helps
                          SG

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

                            Your '_msdcs.vhp.local' zone is missing a considerable number of service folders for AD and other related files. This will be the problem.

                            I was hoping that restarting the 'netlogon' service will make the DC register them all.

                            When you DCPROMOed, were there any errors? If you type DCPROMO in now, what does it say? without you completing the process of course. Is DNS in the IPv4 properties pointing to itself as DNS?

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: dcdiag exposes a problem

                              If tell me to make sure that
                              "this domain controller is a global catalog server. Global Catalogs are used to process user logons. You should make sure other global catalogs are accessible to users of this domain before removing ad from this computer"

                              should i just remove ad and dns and start again?? - one more time, lol

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X