No announcement yet.

Child domains and how they work with DNS

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Child domains and how they work with DNS

Hi guys,

I'm studying for my MCSE but i'm a little confused about child domains and how they integrate into dns.

Firstly, i've been readin this article

I've set up a test lab in VMware to replicate a live environment.

So as the process states, I installed a root domain (test.lan) on a DC called DC01 and checked dns and all was as you would expect. I then installed the child domain (child.test.lan) and checked the root domain's dns. This after 15 minutes populated the child domains folder. So now I have a folder called 'child' as you would expect and this contains an 'A' record pointing to the domain controller of the new DC for the child domain. This is the automatically generated deligation for that child domain i assume?

Next I installed DNS on the child domain DC and configured a new zone for child.test.lan. I enabled forwarding for all other domains to the parent DNS server. On DC02 (the child domain controller) I could then query DNS for computers in the top level domain sucessfully.

What I could not do is query records in the child domain form the parent domain. When i do I get the error "dc01.test.lan can't find dc02.child.test.lan: Non-existent domain"

Even though theres a deligation it still fails. Why is this and what is the best practice way of getting round it? From what I understand the root dns server contains information about authorative dns servers for the child domain but it wont go down the heirarchy and query that dns server.

Any halp greatly apreciated!!

Re: Child domains and how they work with DNS

The link you have given show a diferent way of doing things than what you have carried out. You have installed the root domain and checked DNS. I take it DNS is on DC01?

You then delegate the child DNS zone on DC01 to the 'to be' the future DC02.