No announcement yet.

Strange login failure on a 2003 R2 Enterprise

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strange login failure on a 2003 R2 Enterprise

Hoping someone here can helkp with this puzzler - I have been doing windows admin for 15 years and I don't think I've ever had to post a question online before- usually get pretty lucky with the oracle of google and a healthy dose of patience. Not this time though...

I Recently restarted a 2003 Enterprise R2 server which has been up for about 40 days with no prior issues. Reason for restart was to apply the 2 or 3 most recent KB updates.

Reboot process was uneventful, no notices of failed services or drivers etc.

When trying to log in at the console (physical console), after pressing Ctrl-Alt-Delete and entering the usual admin creds and pressing , the "Log On To Windows" window (GINA) freezes - the OK button stays depressed / pushed in and the mouse pointer disappears (or sometimes shows the Busy pointer) when passed over the window.

After about 5 minutes, the Log On To Windows window disappears and the "Welcome To Windows Press Ctrl-Alt-Del" (SAC) window comes back up. Repeat login attempts have the same effect.

No beep, no error message of any kind. Anyone ever seen this?

Here's some more info:

The machine is a domain controller on a small network with 2 DCs. Other DC is a Server 2003 SP2 machine, with the AD Schema updated to v31 to match the R2 box.

Network logon and RPC works - I can see and access files over shares on this machine, can connect to the machine's regitry over the network, I can manage pretty much everything about it. I can even telnet into it if I enable and start the service.

I can view the event log over the network. This doesn't help though - There's not a single clue to whats happening in the logs. All logon processes run and events fire normally from what I can tell so far. No errors or warnings.