2K3 SP2 unable to get login script to run on clients

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2K3 SP2 unable to get login script to run on clients

I am new to server 2003 and AD so please excuse what must be a very basic question.

I have been trying to get a simple login script to run to map network drives. The script is :

echo on
    net use v: \\server\share /persistent:no
    pause

I have added this (logon.bat) to the NETLOGON folder which in my case is located at :
    F:\WINDOWS\SYSVOL\sysvol\mediaserver.int\SCRIPTS

This did not result in the script running at logon so following a different set of instructions that I found I then from AD users and computers edited the default domain users group policy navigated to user config,windows,scripts,login then clicked “show files” and added my .bat here as well.

This location was :
    \\mediaserver.int\sysvol\mediaserver.int\Policies\ {31B2F340-016D-11D2-945F-00C04FB984F9}\User\Scripts\Logon

Having logged out and in on the client and also running GPUPDATE I still can’t get the script to run on login.

The clients are all Vista SP1 and the script runs on the clients without issue.

I presume I have missed something basic but from all the searches I have done I am none the wiser.

Any assistance would be gratefully received

Re: 2K3 SP2 unable to get login script to run on clients

If you want to use a logon script you can use several ways of applyng the policy:
    1. Define the Logon script in the user object
    2. Define the logon script in a policy applied to the user object
    3. Place the script locally %Systemroot%\Windows32\USRLOGON.CMD

1)Place the script in %Domain%\Sysvol\%Domain%\Scripts, and define the script in the user object (Profile\Logon Script\%logonscript.bat%).

2)Define the scrip in a policy, place the script in the scripts folder. In the policy define the UNC path to the script.