Inexpensive backup solution for SBS 2003

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inexpensive backup solution for SBS 2003

We are a small school with limited funds and I am new to the staff and have just returned to the IT profession so my knowledge is dated. Our SBS 2003 SP2 server doesnít have a backup device and hasnít been saved since install over a year ago. I need a suggestion on which USB external drives work with NT Backup as this seems to be the best route based on cost. I am also open to other suggestions for a reliable lower cost backup solution.

Thanks

Re: Inexpensive backup solution for SBS 2003

Any USB hard drive that is supported by Windows. USB 2 preferable for obvious reasons. NTBackup will just point to a drive letter.

Need any help scripting ntbackup?

I'd recommend a gigabit NAS for onsite backup, with 6 USB drives for offsite. Or better yet, 10.

Monday-Thursday
    Friday1
    Friday2

or

Monday-Thursday
    Friday1
    Friday2
    Friday3
    Month1
    Month2
    Month3

You must be a very small school if you have less than 75 users.
    Last edited by gforceindustries; 20th November 2008, 19:43.
    Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

"Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

Comment

I would balance up what would happen if you lost everything on the server against the money you are told you can spend.
      You need a minimum of 2 drives so you have at least some tolerance should one fail. The NAS solution would be good but I'm going to guess it may be too expensive.
      cheers
      Andy

Please read this before you post: