Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Win 2003 with NT4 networking

Hi guys,

This is my first time on the site. I've used your website extensively in helping me fix problems. The site is great

The problem:
    everytime a user logs in, the batch file runs and then stops. It then asks for the administrator username and password.

Background information:
    1)The machine that has the shares is a NT4 machine SP6
    2)The primary domain controller is a Win2003 server. (roles has recently been siezed and both computers restarted)
    3)the NT4 DNS settings are correct. nslookup of all the computers from the domain works.
    4)DNS server is the PDC.
    5)The NT4 machine shares can be accessed very easily when the batch file runs when an administrator logs in.
    6)when an administrator logs, they have easy access to all the files. No prompting for authentication.
    7)If i create a user in the NT4 box, the Win2003 server sees it.
    AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, the NT4 machine is actually a virtual server running on another win2003. Using Vmware 1.06. Installed vmware tools, and installed the virtual NIC. assigned the necessary IP scheme.

everyone works perfectly except that a normal user must authenticate for the batch files and in the dialog boxes if he wants to access the shares

Any Help is greatly appreciated

Re: Win 2003 with NT4 networking

What are these batch files. Are they logon scripts? What share are they stored in? How are they defined as logon scripts - through ADUC or Group Policy?
    Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.